Skip navigation

I’m really disappointed with Cacti. It’s a great concept with great intentions, but implemented poorly. It’s been a long time since I’ve been angry with doing normal tasks in software, but Cacti really pisses me off every time I work with it. The main concern I have is that any change can break the graphs for an entire host.

Imagine if you were creating a chart in Excel. “Ooops, that should have been an XY scatter graph, not a line graph.” You make the change, and BANG — all of your data is gone, and the graph is broken. The only way to fix the situation is to delete the entire spreadsheet and start over with new data. This is what it feels like every fucking day when working with Cacti.

I wish I could switch to something else, but I have 260 servers and 4,500 graphs now. I don’t want to rewrite all of my polling scripts and templates for a new system. Hell, I’d pay $2,000 for a graphing system that imports my entire Cacti setup and doesn’t suck shit at the same time.

In Cacti’s defense, it is in active development, which still gives me a little hope it might improve. Not much hope, since it’s written in PHP and uses RRDtool as the backend. I will never be able to create (correct) multi-series graphs because the RRDTool guy shot himself in the foot with that one. Who the hell makes a graphing package and leaves out the ability to have multiple Y axes with independent scales? I spend a good portion of my script writing trying to massage my data to fit on a normalized graph. Fucking bullshit.

Many open source projects are like this — great ideas with half-assed code, annoying UIs, and assholes on the mailing list. (Although, Cacti’s support forums are somewhat helpful) Is the rule of thumb here, “you get what you pay for?” In that case, I think I’d rather go back to paying for software. Fuck open source, I just want it to work!

Hold on. My KDE4 taskbar disappeared. Where is that “kicker” binary that they used to have in KDE3? Gone. Wait, why is Firefox consuming 1GB of memory? WAIT, why is Pidgin consuming 650MB of memory!?

Ctrl Alt Backspace. WTF, that’s disabled by default in Jaunty now? Who the fuck made that decision?

You get my point. The idea of Open Source is great, but I believe it has become too chaotic with a complete disregard to good programming models. Closed source (pay) software can be horribly shitty as well, but at least there are consequences to half-assed code: you’re out of business.

I love Linux and Apache in the server role. It does a great job, because we make money with it. There is a strong motivation around the world to make Apache into a great product, because it’s directly related to our profit margins. My KDE4 taskbar will never make money, which is why the developer wrote it one-handed while simultaneously jerking off to his World of Warcraft in-game girlfriend.

Excuse me now, I need to search for some graphing software. (And jerk off to my in-game girlfriend)

31 Comments

  1. Very yes. Write more please!

    • I will. šŸ™‚ My hatred of Cacti has not ceased, and I haven’t yet found a suitable alternative… However, there are many other subjects I will write about provided the database servers will stop bitching long enough for some breathing time.

  2. It appears to me that this website doesnt load up in a Motorola Droid. Are other folks getting the exact same problem? I like this website and dont want to have to miss it when Im away from my computer.

  3. When I open up your Rss feed it appears to be to be a ton of junk, is the issue on my side?

  4. I had been wondering if you ever considered changing the layout of your site? It is well written; I enjoy what youve got to state. But maybe you can create a a bit more in the way of written content so people might connect with it better. You have got an awful lot of wording for only having one or two photographs. Maybe you can space it out better?

  5. Please email me with a few pointers about how you made your blog site look this cool, Id appreciate it!

  6. How come you dont have your site viewable in mobile format? Can not view anything in my iPad.

  7. Strange , this post shows up with a black hue to it, what shade is the primary color on your web site?

  8. A insightful blog post there mate ! Cheers for it .

  9. Fantastic Stuff, do you have a flickr profile?

  10. A interesting blog post there mate . Cheers for it .

  11. When I start your Rss feed it appears to be a ton of garbage, is the issue on my part?

  12. Nice post . Thank you for, posting on my blog page dude. I shall message you again! I didnt know that.

  13. Im getting a tiny issue. I cant get my reader to pick up your rss feed, Im using yahoo reader by the way.

  14. Although I truly like this publish, I believe there was an spelling error shut to the finish of your third section.

  15. Have you considered including several social bookmarking links to these sites. At least for myspace.

  16. This blog site has lots of extremely useful information on it! Cheers for informing me!

  17. I tried looking at your web site in my ipod touch and the structure doesnt seem to be correct. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellphone layouts are not really working with your site.

  18. Nice post . Thank you for, commenting on my blog page dude. Ill message you some time. I did not realise that.

  19. If you dont mind, where do you host your webpage? I am hunting for a good quality host and your site seams to be extremely fast and up almost all the time

  20. Just to let you know your web-site appears a little bit strange on Safari on my notebook with Linux .

  21. A interesting post there mate . Thanks for the post !

  22. This is really a fantastic web site, would you be interested in making time for an interview concerning just how you developed it? If so e-mail myself!

  23. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Rss feed is not functioning today. I tried including it to my Google reader account but got absolutely nothing.

  24. Nice post ! Thank you for, posting on my blog page mate. Ill message you soon! I didnt know that.

  25. How do you make this blog look this good! Email me if you want and share your wisdom. !

  26. How did you make a blog site look this cool!? Email me if you get the chance and share your wisdom. Id be thankful.

  27. Hello, I just hopped over to your webpage using StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would normally read, but I appreciated your views none the less. Thank you for making some thing worthy of browsing.

  28. After I start your Rss feed it appears to be a lot of nonsense, is the issue on my part?

  29. Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Feed isnt functioning today. I tried including it to my Yahoo reader account and got nothing.

  30. I have got one recommendation for your web site. It appears like right now there are a number of cascading stylesheet troubles when launching a selection of webpages in google chrome and opera. It is operating fine in internet explorer. Probably you can double check that.


Leave a Reply

